Join partners The News-Press, Naples Daily News and WGCU as we talk to experts and our own reporters about key issues and races.

Fort Myers News-Press

The general election is next month so to help voters make their decisions, The News-Press has put together this election guide.

Here’s everything you need to know about the Nov. 3 election including local races and voting information.

More: Record number of vote-by-mail ballots in Lee, Collier counties sent or ready for mailing

More: Brent Batten: Postage policy differs on Lee, Collier mail ballots


► The deadline to request your vote-by-mail ballot is 5 p.m. on Oct. 24, according to the Lee County Supervisor of Elections. Registered voters can request a ballot here.

► Early voting for the general election will be Oct. 19 through Oct. 31 from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. For early voting locations, click here. 

► On Election Day, the polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Nov. 3.

► Voters can find their precinct and registration status here. 


Lee County commission

District 3

It hasn’t happened since 1996. A Democrat and a Republican are running against each other to represent Lee County Commission District 3 as Democrat Todd Truax and Republican Ray Sandelli face off on the ballot. Read story »

District 5

Republican Frank Mann will challenge Rev. Juan Gonzalez for the District 5 seat. Mann is seeking reelection to the county commission for a fourth straight term. Read story »

Lee County Sheriff

The task to unseat Sheriff Carmine Marceno may seem daunting, but Michael “Coach Ray” Qualls, Carmen McKinney and Robert Neeld hope to spring the upset and lead the agency for the next four years. Read story »

Elections 2020: You have questions. We have answers.

More: Join us on Oct. 15 for ‘The Vote’ Town Hall

Lee Health’s Board of Directors

Ten candidates with a mix of health care and business backgrounds are vying for six seats on Lee Health’s elected Board of Directors, a body that oversees the $2 billion budget of Southwest Florida’s largest hospital system. 

Though low-profile in the realm of statewide politics, the non-partisan race generally attracts a large number of candidates from a mix of backgrounds and expertise. Read story »

Lee Mosquito Control District

Lee’s district operates under a budget of $22.9 million with a tax rate of 0.2539. It covers more than 1,000 square miles, or just around 98% of the county. Read about the candidates »

  • Lee’s district 1 seat is the busiest ballot of all mosquito districts in Southwest Florida. Three candidates, Ed Brantley, Melissa Dortch and Taruas Pugh, are vying for the seat.
  • Two candidates are on the ballot for the districts seat 3, Mike Ellis and Jim O’Connell. 
  • The district’s seat 5 has two candidates: William Burke and George “Pat” Mann. 

Cape Coral City Council

District 2

Bryan De La Hunt and Dan Sheppard share similar but not identical philosophies on the future of the city they hope to represent. They have different backgrounds and careers, and only one of them will be elected to the Cape Coral city council District 2 seat. Read story »

District 3

Although Cape Coral city council elections are supposed to be non-partisan, the Nov. 3 race for the District 3 seat has taken on the flavor of the U.S. presidential campaign. The candidates running for the seat are Tom Hayden and Chris Cammorata. Read story »

District 5

Robert Welsh, 35, and Louis Navarra, 75, each hope to provide some stability for a Cape Coral District 5 city council seat that has seen a lot of turnover in recent years. Read story »

District 7

Voters will have a unique outcome in one of this year’s four Cape Coral city council seat races. Whether Jessica Cosden or Derrick Donnell wins, an experienced city council member will be returning to the District 7 seat. Read story »

U.S. House District 19

Republican Byron Donalds will face Democrat Cindy Banyai in the US District 19 Congressional race. Francis Rooney, who currently holds the seat, decided not to run for re-election.

Watch replay: Cindy Banyai, Byron Donalds square off in Congressional District 19 debate


Show Thumbnails

Show Captions

Last SlideNext Slide


Show Thumbnails

Show Captions

Last SlideNext Slide

State Senate District 27

The election pits state Rep. Ray Rodrigues, a two-term member of the Florida House of Representatives with significant funding, against Democrat Rachel Brown, who has never run for elected office before. Read story »

State House District 76

Republican Adam Botana is running against Democrat Anselm Weber for the State House District 76 seat. The district encompasses a coastal swath from Bonita Springs northwest to Sanibel and Pine Island. Whoever wins will replace incumbent Republican Ray Rodrigues, who has held the position since 2012 and is running to represent parts of Lee County in the Florida Senate after reaching his term limit. Read story »

State House District 77

Voters in State House District 77 will choose between Republican candidate Mike Giallombardo and Democratic candidate Joshua Lopez. The district includes Cape Coral and is currently represented by Republican Dane Eagle, who termed out and couldn’t run again. Read story »

State House District 79

Incumbent Spencer Roach will face Democratic challenger Danika Fornear for Florida District 79. The district covers North Fort Myers, Buckingham, Alva and Lehigh Acres. Read story »

This story will be updated with more candidate profiles as they are published.

For more information about the general election, go to or call (239) LEE-VOTE (533-8683). 


There will be six constitutional amendment proposals on the Nov. 3 ballot. To be adopted into the Florida Constitution, each proposal must receive at least 60% of the votes statewide. Learn about the amendments »

Read or Share this story: